View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 7:03 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
A1: Assault On Blacktooth Ridge Question (POSSIBLE SPOILER) 
Henchman

Post A1: Assault On Blacktooth Ridge Question (POSSIBLE SPOILER)
Hi,

I am new to CnC and so far have been the CK for 3 sessions and it's been a lot of fun. I have experience with old 2e, some 3.5e, and 4e DnD.

The party got to the part where there was the troll under a bridge. The group are all level 1. 3 players and 2 npc party memebrs. Cleric, Paladin, Mage, Ranger, and Fighter.

Up until then they were blowing through all the encounters. I almost considered increasing the difficulty. Then they came up against this 6HD troll with 3 viscious attacks per turn. The troll was flat out obliterating them.

I decided to have a group of mercenaries from Ludenheim come out of no where to save the day.

So my questions are:

Was the party supposed to encounter this troll?
Should I have scaled down the encoutner?
Is it acceptable to intervene like I did or should I have let party members die?

It just seemed odd to me that everything was a cake walk up until then and then... bam... no chance.

Thanks!

Tue May 31, 2011 6:57 pm
Greater Lore Drake

Post Re: A1: Assault On Blacktooth Ridge Question (POSSIBLE SPOIL
Its been a while since I forayed into A1, but honestly you did the right thing if it prevented a TPK and your group was happy with the overall game. One thing that they should learn is that it is perfectly acceptable to RUN from encounters when you are heavily outclassed :)

Tue May 31, 2011 7:46 pm
Greater Lore Drake

Better part of valor! Better part of valor!

or

I don't have to outrun the troll, I only have to outrun you!
lol

Tue May 31, 2011 8:35 pm
Red Cap

Breakdaddy wrote:
One thing that they should learn is that it is perfectly acceptable to RUN from encounters when you are heavily outclassed :)