Difference in Haunted Highlands and Tainted Lands?

All things about the Haunted Highlands!
rickyh
Ungern

Difference in Haunted Highlands and Tainted Lands?

Post by rickyh »

Whats the difference?

-- E. Gary Gygax
My GM Badges:

Go0gleplex
Greater Lore Drake

Post by Go0gleplex »

Admittedly I've had little experience with either other than what I've seen posted around...so the following is semi-educated conjecture:

Haunted Highlands is more akin to a setting in a land where darkness has a pretty good grip.

Tainted Lands is more of a setting where horror and sudden death are more than likely.

In a more generic terminology...Haunted Highlands is like IUZ's lands in Greyhawk....whereas Tainted Lands is a nastier version of Ravenloft.

Baron Grignak Hammerhand of the Pacifica Provinces-

High Warden of the Castles & Crusades Society
"Rolling dice and killing characters since September 1976."
"Author of Wardogs! and Contributor to Iron Stars and Starmada-Admiralty ed."
"Certified crazy since 2009."

rickyh
Ungern

Post by rickyh »

Well I have a player wanting to start out and do the necromancer thing and eventually become a lich. Which one would be better for something like that you think?

-- E. Gary Gygax
My GM Badges:

Go0gleplex
Greater Lore Drake

Post by Go0gleplex »

Probably have to wait til someone more familiar with the setting has a chance to reply to that one.

A guess would be Haunted Highlands given the Black Libram of Naratus and it's necromancer within.

Baron Grignak Hammerhand of the Pacifica Provinces-

High Warden of the Castles & Crusades Society
"Rolling dice and killing characters since September 1976."
"Author of Wardogs! and Contributor to Iron Stars and Starmada-Admiralty ed."
"Certified crazy since 2009."

Aramis
Lore Drake

Post by Aramis »

rickyh wrote:
Well I have a player wanting to start out and do the necromancer thing and eventually become a lich. Which one would be better for something like that you think?