New to C&C

Open Discussion on all things C&C from new product to general questions to the rules, the laws, and the chaos.
Eris
Henchman

New to C&C

Post by Eris »

I'm new to C&C. In the distant past I played and DM'ed White Box D&D (yeah, I'm that old), but stopped about 1980 and didn't do D&D again until 3e came out. Since then, I've DM'ed a 3rd edition game (well, d20 mechanic with most rules ignored and handled on the fly) online. I've found 3e to be *way* too rules heavy and fiddly for me, though. I bought the 4e rules (maybe they'll grow on me, but for now...meh!), and although there are some interesting bits, I just don't think it feels like D&D to me. So now I'm looking *hard* at C&C.

I bought the "Player's Handbook" and "Monsters and Treasures" back in 2005, but haven't done more than read them through until now. Now, I'm seriously looking at running a game with C&C so as I said, I'm looking at it hard.

C&C looks like it is somewhere in between OD&D and 3e, it seems to have the "feel" I'm looking for, and I think it would work a lot better for me than 4e, however, I appear to be missing some things in the Player's Handbook and just plain feel lost about others. So, I have a few questions I'd like to put before the assembled community.

1. Starting Spells in a Wizard's Spellbook. After reading and rereading the Player's Handbook I still can't find how many spells a Wizard has in his spellbook when he is starting out. I found that you add 1 each time you level up and you can add them by writing them into the spellbook, but I can't find how many are in there when you are starting out. I could "houserule" something easily enough, but I'd like to know where the official rule is located...if it is there.

2. Speaking of spells, I've got a couple of houserules that I plan to use that I'd like advice on.