DM Dice Rolling Prefrence

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
Naleax
Ungern

DM Dice Rolling Prefrence

Post by Naleax »

I was wondering how some of you CK's or DM's roll dice. My prefrence is to roll all attack and damage rolls in front of the party. I generally roll all rolls that could give players information that they are not privy to behind the screen. An example would be hiding. A player does not know and should not know how well he is hidden when he makes his hide in shadows roll.

I don't like DM Fiat or cheating behind the screen, i'm not very good at it as a DM and as a player i don't like it either. As a player i need to feel that the adventure is risky and that characters could die. If i know the DM is fudging his rolls it feels like the players can get away with anything and the game feels less immersive and less risky.

I have a couple of players that prefer i roll behind the screen and another that likes to see the attack and damage rolls out in the open. Right now i am rolling in front of everyone but to simulate DM fiat i give my players 2 karma points to start the game and 1 karma point at the beginning of every game but they can never have more than 2 at any given time. They can use these karma points to change a successful roll of mine into a failure and or a failed roll of theirs into a success. Thats the basics they can do a few more things with karma to turn the game in their favor.

So if some of you CK's or DM's could chime in with some info about how you make your dice rolls I would be very interested to see what works for you.

serleran
Mogrl

Post by serleran »

I don't roll dice. I just make up the numbers.

Go0gleplex
Greater Lore Drake

Post by Go0gleplex »

Party doesn't get to see any of my rolls. muwahahahahaaaa

Baron Grignak Hammerhand of the Pacifica Provinces-

High Warden of the Castles & Crusades Society