Spellcasting and concentration checks.

Open Discussion on all things C&C from new product to general questions to the rules, the laws, and the chaos.
Post Reply
Andhaira
Mist Elf
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:00 am

Spellcasting and concentration checks.

Post by Andhaira »

Two things:

-Can a spell caster make his alloted movement in his round AND also cast a spell? Or does he need a fullround action of nothing but spellcasting to cast a spell?

-How does a caster make a concentration check in C&C? What can cause a caster to make a cocentration check apart from being interrupted while casting a spell that takes longer than one round to cast?

Thanks!

User avatar
moriarty777
Renegade Mage
Posts: 3735
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Spellcasting and concentration checks.

Post by moriarty777 »

Well, various people will do things slightly differently but...
Andhaira wrote:
-Can a spell caster make his alloted movement in his round AND also cast a spell? Or does he need a fullround action of nothing but spellcasting to cast a spell?

"A character may not move any distance and cast a spell in the same round unless the spell description states otherwise." PHB, Page 129 - 4th printing.

If just attacking, a character is able to move up to half their movement rate and still attack in a given round.

Now, what I have heard done in one case is that spells which have 1 round casting times will allow for up to half their movement prior to casting but, if they do, then the spell will only go off the following round during the caster's turn.

I haven't tried this myself and normally I just stick with an action being permissible along with no more than half the character's allotted movement.

Movement is defined as an 'abstraction' anyway so which ever works for you and your group is what you should consider. However, the by-the book answer (quoted above) is that caster can't move if he is planning to cast that round.
Andhaira wrote:
-How does a caster make a concentration check in C&C? What can cause a caster to make a cocentration check apart from being interrupted while casting a spell that takes longer than one round to cast?

There really aren't any concentration checks in C&C. If you look in the Magic section, it outlines possibilities depending on how you run your game. One is simply that some CK's disallow any spell in the same round in which you were hit before your initiative turn. This is probably the easiest way to go about it and provides a greater incentive for the party to protect the caster. Some think that goes too far. Others acknowledge that an attack on the caster during a tied initiative round could lead into the disruption of a spell as environmental or magical conditions would.

In my games, I adopt the second one listed. My casters do not announce what they will be casting at the start of the round and since most combat oriented spells are a casting time of 1 round, the second scenario hasn't really come up.

M
_________________
"You face Death itself in the form of... 1d4 Tarrasques!"

Partner to Brave Halfling Publishing
http://www.arcanacreations.com
Image

Treebore
Mogrl
Posts: 20660
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Arizona and St Louis

Post by Treebore »

I pretty much follow 3E when it comes to moving and casting and what would cause a "concentration check".

I also don't follow the 15ft and attack rule either, I allow 30' and attack, or 60 on a charge.
_________________
The Ruby Lord, Earl of the Society

Next Con I am attending: http://www.neoncon.com/

My House Rules: http://www.freeyabb.com/phpbb/viewtopic ... llordgames
Since its 20,000 I suggest "Captain Nemo" as his title. Beyond the obvious connection, he is one who sails on his own terms and ignores those he doesn't agree with...confident in his journey and goals.
Sounds obvious to me! -Gm Michael

Grand Knight Commander of the Society.

User avatar
Relaxo
Greater Lore Drake
Posts: 3350
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:00 am

Post by Relaxo »

RAW, BTB the second question is that it disrupts the spell and it's lost. this is very old school.

I've just reread this section b/c I"m CKing agian and it does state the CK may allow a concentration check, but only hints at how.

I suggest if you go this route, and to my knowledge this is from 3rd ed, it's a WIS check with a CL = hp damage.

or something.
Bill D.
Author: Yarr! Rules-Light Pirate RPG
BD Games - www.playBDgames.com
http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/browse.ph ... rs_id=5781

User avatar
moriarty777
Renegade Mage
Posts: 3735
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by moriarty777 »

Treebore wrote:
I pretty much follow 3E when it comes to moving and casting and what would cause a "concentration check".

I also don't follow the 15ft and attack rule either, I allow 30' and attack, or 60 on a charge.

For me this is where I consider movement an abstraction. You can move and attack... just not a full move. Generally, common sense is my guide.
_________________
"You face Death itself in the form of... 1d4 Tarrasques!"

Partner to Brave Halfling Publishing
http://www.arcanacreations.com
Image

User avatar
Omote
Battle Stag
Posts: 11560
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:00 am
Location: The fairest view in the park, Ohio.
Contact:

Post by Omote »

Casters don't need to make concentration checks unless the enviroment or some other wackiness could prevent the caster from successfully casting the spell. However, some spells generate effects that might require concentration. If a caster is using such a spell, perhaps you might make him make a concentration check to see if he can maintain a spell that has already been cast (for example, say Spiritual Weapon).

~O
_________________
> Omote's Advanced C&C stuff <
Duke Omote Landwehr, Holy Order of the FPQ ~ Prince of the Castles & Crusades Society
@-Duke Omote Landwehr, Holy Order of the FPQ ~ Prince of the Castles & Crusades Society-@
VAE VICTUS!
>> Omote's Advanced C&C stuff <<

CharlieRock
Lore Drake
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:00 am

Post by CharlieRock »

No movement and no concentration checks either. It's just more dynamic that way.
_________________
The Rock says ...

Know your roll!

Post Reply