Castles & Crusades question - Perception

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
drewdavis
Henchman

Castles & Crusades question - Perception

Post by drewdavis »

First, hello forum! New guy here. :-)

I recently decided to go back to 2nd edition because 5th ed has just kinda lost me. I miss the feeling of the old days. Still, once my group and I started playing, I found we were making house rules to make a few things make more sense.

Then I found Castles & Crusades.

I picked the PHB up at a game shop while visiting Illinois (Castle Perilous Games...great shop). The more I read it, the more I liked it. We switched to C&C and have really enjoyed it.

Anyway, on to my question:
What's your rule on Perception checks? The way I've been doing it is a Wisdom check without adding your level unless you're a Rogue or Assassin. Anyone do it differently? If so, how well do you feel it works?

Fizz
Lore Drake

Re: Castles & Crusades question - Perception

Post by Fizz »

Welcome to the boards! You will find us to be a helpful passionate, sometimes wild, bunch. :)

Glad to have another 2nd Ed guy here. I grew up on 2nd Ed, and i loved the feel of it as well.

To your question, there is nothing wrong with how you're handling it. I think a number of people here do it that way here. If you search the boards, you'll find plenty of threads about this topic, with the usual "but that makes clerics better at spotting danger than rangers" (due to it being Prime-based) debate. Adding level for specific classes is a very good way to resolve that.

As an alternative- how would you do in 2nd ed? Perception checks are very much a thing from 3e and later editions (spot vs hide, etc). So just forget that influence it and do it however you would do it in 2nd ed. That will work perfectly well too.

-Fizz

Go0gleplex
Greater Lore Drake

Post by Go0gleplex »