Easier to convert Swords & Wizardry or Pathfinder to C&C?

C&C discussion. Fantasy roleplaying.
New products, general questions, the rules, laws, and the chaos.
Corrilwynn
Skobbit

Easier to convert Swords & Wizardry or Pathfinder to C&C?

Post by Corrilwynn »

Troll friends... I am just getting into Castles & Crusades. I'm very interested in Frog God Games products, in particular Hex Crawl Chronicles and the Northlands Saga. They offer both products in a Swords & Wizardry version as well as a Pathfinder version, and I'm trying to decided which version to get. Which of these systems would be easier to convert to Castles & Crusades? I understand Swords & Wizardry is based off of basic D&D, but I don't know basic D&D rules. I've been playing Pathfinder for a while, so I know it better, but my inclination is that S&W would be easier to convert because there is less crunch to deal with. Any help is appreciated.

mgtremaine
Ulthal

Re: Easier to convert Swords & Wizardry or Pathfinder to C&C

Post by mgtremaine »

If you are converting on the fly then S&W and any pre 3rd D&D is easier. However if you put a little prep into it anything is easy to convert. Between the MOnsters & Treasures Book and Classic Monsters book almost everything is covered. When it is not I reach for the online 2ed Monterous Manual. When ever I use an existing dungeon I make some tear sheets with all the monsters stated for C&C that I'mm likely to need that game.

For example my son is currently in G3 Halls of the Fire Giant King... My sheet starts like so. From there you are ready to wing it....

Fire Giant:
Size: L (12’) HD: 12 Ac: 23 Int: Average Align: Lawful Evil
Mv: 40’ Xp: 1450 + 12 At: 2 (2d8), 1 Weapon (5d6)
Special: Twilight Vision, Darkvision 60’, Rock Throwing (450feet -> 2d10), Immune to Fire
Vulnerable to Cold (+50%)

*Elite Guard: As above AC: 24
*Snurre: Size 13’ Ac: 26 Hp: 92 Two-Handed Sword: +18 To Hit 7d6 + 6 damage
WhiteDragon Cloak +3 save versus Cold DR 50% [XP: 6500]